Adventure · Lifestyle · Travel

A Week of Walking 10,000 Steps Per Day

Happy #NationalWalkingMonth!

A while back I set myself the challenge of walking more. Last week I finally conjured up the motivation to start. I decided to do the recommended 10,000 steps per day for a week to see how I would feel. I walked to work, went for a quick stroll at lunch and then walked home. Luckily this amounted to exactly the number of steps that I needed for the day! In total each day I walked for around 1 hour and 40 minutes, with my mile count at about 4.5 miles per day.

Monday – 10,280 steps

On Monday I felt good! I felt energised after walking to work and I was early for a change! I couldn’t wait to get out and have a proper break at lunch. When back in the office I was focused and productive and didn’t feel the 3 o’clock slump. After my walk home I didn’t feel tired at all and could probably have done more walking if it wasn

Tuesday – 10,621 steps

On Tuesday I felt even more energised, the sun was shining and I was early for work again. I went for a longer walk at lunch because it was such a nice day. I was excited to walk home as I’d had a particularly productive day and so I wanted some thinking time before I had to sit down to my uni assignment.

Wednesday – 10,215 steps

On Wednesday I felt a little drained. I don’t know whether this was due to the stress that comes with uni assignments or the walking but it didn’t stop me from doing my steps. I took a shorter walk at lunch as there are fewer people in the office on Wednesdays but I was glad of this! I managed to submit my assignment and get a decent night’s sleep ready for tomorrow’s walking.

Thursday – 10,546 steps

On Thursday I felt a lot less drained but oh my calves!! I struggled to walk with pace because my legs were really tight. When I got home I did some stretches and they really helped, but it’s something I am going to have to continue to do until I’m a bit more flexible! I also think this was down to the fact that I hadn’t been drinking enough water. Something I’m quite often guilty of. Nevertheless, I still got my steps done and felt proud that I’d kept it up this far.

Friday – 12,064 steps

Friday was also a struggle on the legs to the point where I wasn’t going to walk at lunch. I hadn’t taken any lunch to work so that forced me out. I walked to my sister’s house after work, which took me about an hour. When I got there I was exhausted but after a quick drink and a rest I was dancing around the living room with my niece!

Saturday – 11,524 steps

I worked on Saturday and so this meant walking both ways. I felt energised again and with only 8,000 steps from the work journey I was trying to think of ways to up the step count. Getting the bus rather than accepting a lift helped with this and pushed my steps to where I needed them.

Sunday – 11,531 steps

I was worried about how I would fit all of my steps in on a day off work so I arranged to go for a walk with the BFF. We went to Crackley Wood Nature Reserve, where all of the bluebells were in bloom. It was beautiful and also nice and flat so easy on the calves as they were still aching.

img_6934I really enjoyed my walking week challenge. Throughout the whole process I haven’t lost any weight but I haven’t really been keeping an eye on my diet and that wasn’t my aim. I definitely feel in better shape for it! I am going to continue to do at least 10,000 steps per day until my calves stop aching. After this I am going to bump the step count up to 15,000 by taking an evening stroll.

How do you get the recommended daily steps? Any tips on calf stretching? I’d love to hear from you!

LGx

3 thoughts on “A Week of Walking 10,000 Steps Per Day

  1. Awesome work!! I don’t follow steps too closely, but my boyfriend does! We’re lucky that we live downtown and close to a lot of things, so he (and I) make an effort to walk most places which in turn equates to more steps. Sounds like you’re doing that already so good on ya! I don’t have any good recommendations for calf stretches, I usually just stand up straight, point my toes toward my body and bend my upper body forward until I feel a stretch there. It works OK. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the reply! That’s what I try to do, getting the bus everywhere is so expensive now. I have been stretching that way and heard the foam roller helps but hurts!! :p Thanks for the tips! I’ll keep stretching and walking and I’m sure I’ll limber up in no time! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

